Skip to content

What to do on a rainy Saturday:

August 1, 2010

1. Decide to clean your room.  Find a Back to the Future Marathon on tv and start rummaging through the dresser drawers.

2. Find a pair of Express pants, purchased at a consignment shop at least 4 years ago.  Tags are still on.

3. Try on pants.  They fit!  But, I’m not sure they are really my style….which is why they were wadded up in a drawer with the tags still on.  (How they survived at least 2 moves, I don’t know…well, ok- I’m a lazy packrat.)4. Cut the lower legs off the pants.

5. Use the scraps to check the tension on the sewing machine. One of the legs becomes a project bag for knitting! Already in use.

6. Decide they are not any better as cropped pants.  (Whoops, no picture of this.)  Remember this whipup tutorial for turning pants into a skirt.  Commence ripping of the inseam.

7. Suffer an iron related injury.  PSA: Do not lean over your ironing board to reach your scissors, leaving your sensitive inner arm exposed.

8. Sew up the new seams!  Rip them out, and sew them again to get rid of the weird wrinkle over the butt.

9. Wish desperately for a serger while zig-zag stitching the rapidly unraveling hem.

10. Face the iron again and pin down the hemline.  Catch up on an episode of White Collar via Hulu while hand-stitching the hem.

11. Take awkward photos of new skirt in bathroom mirror!!

12. Realize the bedroom is even messier than it was when I started.  Oh well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda permalink
    August 2, 2010 6:09 am

    I love your little impromptu sewing sessions, and I love that skirt. Much cuter as a skirt and project bag than as pants. I have been feeling this need to make more skirts to wear. Maybe the lack of a/c? Anyways, you look fantastic! Love you

  2. August 2, 2010 1:24 pm

    LOVE that skirt! You did a great job. I think I need a sewing machine; it opens the door to SO MANY more projects I can not work on!

    • August 6, 2010 7:22 am

      Thanks! It was super fun, and I think it’ll be pretty wearable. I LOVE my sewing machine – nothing fancy, it was maybe $150 from Sears. It was totally worth it.

  3. August 22, 2010 5:44 am

    oh well done I’m totally impressed! I’m mentally scanning my wardrobe to see if there’s anything I can use! Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. September 22, 2010 5:49 am

    LOVE the skirt! What a brilliant idea! and a knitting bag to match! Great job :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

