Skip to content

Family and Father’s Day

June 21, 2010

Even though they make me crazy sometimes, I kind of lucked out in the family department.  I’ve got a good one.

Today, especially, I am grateful for my Dad. Even though he’s often one of the biggest crazy-making members of our family. Although I look just like my mother, my temperament comes right from my father. The things he does that makes me the craziest?  I find myself doing the same things. We overreact, and can’t always let go. We make big, elaborate plans that never come to fruition. We are always right…which is unfortunate when we don’t see eye to eye.

The good stuff, though – makes the crazy stuff disappear. He encouraged me in my schoolwork…but didn’t freak out (too much) when I came home from college and didn’t go back. He helped get my name out there when I was looking for a job, and he religiously watches out for my 401k stock holdings. He helped dig me out of a financial hole. He met me at the car repair place at 6:30 in the morning so I didn’t have to walk the 6 blocks to my office in the dark…and then when my car wasn’t fixed, he let me use his for a month.  Even though he’s reminded me twice this year that he and Mom got married when they were 26….well, I know he’s just looking out for me.

(Plus, my high standards are kind of his fault.  Shouldn’t all guys be able to fix your car, fix your computer, put an addition onto your house, wire the electricity for your garage and re-shingle the roof?  All while working full-time to support your wife and 5 kids? (uh – not that I want 5 kids.) And not to mention coaching soccer and teaching Sunday School.)

So thanks, Dad, for everything….even when I don’t act like it, I appreciate it.  Like today, when you picked a Magnolia flower off the tree so this picture wouldn’t show off my inappropriately low-cut dress.

Father's Day 2010

A few years ago, I made my Mom a stuffed heart “tattoo” for Mother’s Day.  She says it’s her favorite of all my tattoos! I spent the afternoon whipping up one for my Dad.

(For the knitters: made of leftover Malabrigo worsted in Shocking Pink.  Haven’t put it on Ravelry yet, but the pattern is linked above.  Modified to knit in the round – so much easier!)

Happy Father’s Day!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 7:13 am

    Your Dad sounds a lot like mine. And yes, having father’s like that make us have ridiculously high standards in men!

  2. June 21, 2010 12:21 pm

    I LOVE the tattoo! I think I’m totally going to make one for my dad; it’s so great!

  3. June 21, 2010 9:09 pm

    Love that your dad is holding a magnolia in front of your chest! 🙂 He sounds like a great guy!

  4. June 22, 2010 7:05 pm

    The “chest magnolia” is hilarious. I will never be able to think of magnolia’s the same again!

  5. June 28, 2010 10:44 am

    Funny. Happy belated father’s day to your dad.

Trackbacks

  1. Project 365 – Weeks 8, 9 & 10 « Making New

Leave a Reply

