Skip to content

Recipes!

July 11, 2010

Part of my Project 26 is making a new recipe once a month.  Ideally, this would be real food and could be combined with having people over.  So far, however, both months have been desserts. Still counts!

In May, I made these Pina Colada Caramel Crunchers from Hungry Girl to take to a little get together.  They were very quick and easy to make.  I followed the recipe with no changes, but I put them in mini cupcake tins instead of regular size – which I think was a good choice.  In all honesty, I didn’t love these.  I felt like the cereal part got a little soggy, and they weren’t really crunchy.  But I did like them, and everyone ate at least one.  I think the base recipe is good, and you could play with different flavors easily.

Project 26: May recipe

For June, I made these (ridiculously named) Freezylicious Strawberry Squares, also from Hungry Girl.  This I took to my parents for Father’s Day dessert.  It was a nice, light summer dessert.  Yes, I picked these partially because I need to use up the box of Caramel Delight Fiber One cereal left over from last month.  Again, this was good, but I didn’t love it.  My dad did love it though, which is what really mattered.  I did really like the way the crust turned out, and I’ll probably use that again.  (There is still a lot of cereal in my house, but I don’t typically eat it for breakfast.)  I think if it had more time in the freezer it would have been better – it thawed very quickly once cut.  In fact, I think that’s what I didn’t like – I could see myself making the filling again and just freezing it into popsicle molds or just eating it with a spoon.  My mom served the leftovers later and said it was better after a night in the freezer.  Also, I think I may have forgotten to add the vanilla, which would have cut the slight bitterness from the yogurt.  Oops.  And again, this could be made with several fruit flavors.

Project 26: June recipe

So, 2 down, 10 to go.  I have a stack of Everyday Foods magazines with several recipes bookmarked.  Maybe something more exciting for July.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 10:39 pm

    Yea for Strawberry Squares. Now my stomach will be grumbling before bed.

Leave a Reply

