Skip to content

tanlines….help!

August 6, 2010

I know I am woefully behind in my Project 365 updates.  However, I only have time for one post today….and well – I’m sure you’ll see this is much more important.

As evidenced by this photo from last Friday, I have a bizarre tan-line problem.

This is from a beach trip LAST September, in which I got a terrible burn.  Yeah – I cannot use the same SPF 15 that my friend Kayla uses.  But come on – it’s been almost a year!

The problem is: I’m in a wedding in a month and will be wearing a strapless dress. So I need to do something about this.  I’m heading to the beach this weekend and I have a strapless bathing suit, and I have already double checked that the SPF 50 is packed.  And I will be sure to stay covered because I don’t want to make it worse!

But – even if I tan a little, I am still going to be uneven.  You can’t tell in the above photo, but my shoulders look blotchy due to the haphazard application of what little sunscreen I had on.  So – advice?  I don’t like the idea of tanning booths, and I’m pretty sure if I try to apply self-tanner….well, it would be asking for trouble.

I’m thinking spray tan?  Has anyone ever had that done professionally?  I’m super pale, and I don’t mind…but I don’t want to look ridiculous standing next to my perfectly evenly tanned best friend in her wedding photos.  Please let me know if you have any ideas!

I’m headed off to the beach in a few with said best friend and the other bridesmaids for a bachelorette weekend.  I can’t wait!  Happy weekend, everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 8:43 am

    Hello! I just found you through the reformed group on 20sb! I Have tan lines like that, and while I don’t have a wedding to wear a strapless dress in coming up, I DO want to get rid of my lines. I can’t think of anything else but to put sun screen on where I’ve tanned and not on the stripes on my chest! Haha!
    I suppose I’m not very helpful, but I can empathize!
    -Kate 🙂

  2. August 6, 2010 3:59 pm

    Oooh, have fun! I’m no big help on the tan lines. Maybe try that tinted moisturizer for a little bit of color but nothing too orange? I’ve never been to a tanning booth personally – it kind of gives me the heebie jeebies!

  3. Mickenzie Cassidy permalink
    August 7, 2010 10:38 am

    What about just putting some makeup that’s a little darker than your skintone on your whiteness that day? 🙂 Surely one of your friends who’s in the wedding will have the right tone.
    I’ve never tried spray tan, but what I did do one time was put a 50 where I was tan and a 15 where I wasn’t, and it did help to even it out SOME. But not all the way. Tan lines last forever! And I own about 8 bathing suits, so I have all kinds of crazy tan lines. I think I’m not going to wear any suit except my strapless one until our wedding next year. I’m pretty sure Im going to choose a strapless gown. And your dress will probably be strapless too, so keep that in mind. 🙂

  4. August 8, 2010 10:18 pm

    I hope you had a fun weekend.

    I don’t have any suggestion for the tan lines–I get my “farmers’ tan” early in the summer and hold it until the blahs of winter.

Leave a Reply

